Home » News

GASD sues Straban Township; candidates for board election announced

As the slate of candidates for the fall election became clear after Tuesday’s primary, the Gettysburg Area School Board made appointments to its current board.

Running in the fall election on Nov. 2 will be Jeremy Davis, Kenny Hassinger, Ryan J Morris, Jimmy Phelps, John Ramirez, Michelle Smyers, and Carrie Adams Soliday. Voters will get an opportunity to vote for four candidates out of the six and the four with the most votes will join the board.

Hassinger and Soliday are incumbents vying to retain their seats, while the other two slots will replace current board members Kathleen Pratt and Sylvan Hershey who are retiring.

The board appointed Amy Beth Hodges as board treasurer on a divided vote with Carrie Soliday and Kathleen Pratt voting against the motion.  The position replaces that currently held by Pratt

The board unanimously reappointed Belinda Wallen as board secretary and Tom Fortnum as assistant board secretary.

The board also voted to begin legal action against Straban Township on a dispute over land use and legal fees. Hassinger said that Straban was imposing fees that might be in violation of Pennsyvlania case law and were “in violation of precedents set years ago.”  Hassinger said the district had reached out on numerous prior occasions to avoid legal proceedings and felt further conversation with the township would not be fruitful. “They’ve left the district with no other option but for legal process,” said Hassinger.

+ posts

Charles Stangor is Gettysburg Connection's Publisher and Editor in Chief.

We'd value your comment on this post. Please leave one below or send us a note. Comments without a first and last name will not be approved.