Gettysburg Borough Council Election Update, 2019

The Gettysburg Borough Council consists of 7 members who serve a term of four years.

Two members are elected from each of the 3 wards in staggered years.

The seventh member is elected at large, by all three wards.

The Mayor is elected at large for a 4-year term.


Two seats need to be filled in 2019: Ward 2 and the at-large seat.

The municipal primary election is May 21.

To vote in the primary you must register by April 22.

May 14 is the last day to apply for a civilian absentee ballot.


Current slate and candidates:

Ward 1: Not up for reelection (Wesley Heyser; Patricia Lawson, incumbents)

Ward 2: One seat up for election (Chris Berger, incumbent)

    John Rice is a candidate

    Matt Moon is a possible candidate

Ward 3: Not up for reelection (John Lawver; Charles Strauss, incumbents)

At-large seat: (Susan Naugle will not seek re-election)

    Harry Stokes is a candidate

    Matt Moon is a possible candidate

+ posts

Charles (Chuck) Stangor is Gettysburg Connection's Owner, Publisher, and Editor in Chief. I would like to hear from you. Please contact me at

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x