Gettysburg Connection Covers Local Elections

As part of our commitment to civil community discourse and transparency and to give voters as much information as possible before they go to the polls, Gettysburg Connection provides information about local elections. Follow all our elections coverage here. Follow our coverage of the 2024 Presidential Election here.

Democrats win state judicial positions; Martin, Phiel, and Qually reelected

Following an average turnout for a municipal election of about 32 percent of registered Adams County voters, dozens of state, county, and local positions were filled at yesterday’s municipal election.


election signs 1

At the state level, Democrat Daniel McCaffery has defeated Republic Carolyn Carulccio for Supreme Court Justice, and Democrats Jill Beck and Timika Lane have claimed the two Superior Court Judge positions.

Democrat Jack Panella beat Victor Stabile for Superior Court Judge, while Democrat Matt Wolf defeated Republican Megan Martin for the Commonwealth Court Judge position.

For complete state-level results, please click here.

For complete Adams County results, please click here.

For Adams County Commissioner, incumbents Randy Phiel, Jim Martin, and Marty Qually have been reelected. Democrat Robert Smith trailed Qually by about 1,000 votes.

In Gettysburg Borough, Chad-Alan Carr has won the at-large position over Kelley Kaiser, while Matt Moon has retained his seat in Ward 1, defeating Shelley Knouse.

“Thank you to all who voted in this election and thank you Borough of Gettysburg residents for re-electing me as Council Member At Large serving all three wards,” said Carr. “Like all of you, I love Gettysburg. It is important to me to keep our historic town a lovely place to live, work, and visit. I am honored to be re-elected as the first openly gay elected official in Adams County as inclusivity and representation are very important. When you see me around town, please say hello, wave, smile, and also tell me your stories, your concerns, and your ideas. Let’s all work together.”

Click here to read more candidate statements.

Republican Peter Bales has preliminarily edged out Democrat Kierstan Belle in Gettysburg’s Ward 1 by one vote. The final results are uncertain, with some write-in votes to be counted and official canvassing still to be conducted.

In Gettysburg Ward 3, Democrat Alisha Sanders handily beat Republican Brian Hodges.

Winners in the Gettysburg Area School District school board race were Incumbents Al Moyer, Tim Seigman, and Michael Dickerson. Democrat Alice Broadway and Republican Cythnia Ayers will fill the two remaining spots. Broadway is returning to the board.

“I am humbled and honored to have received so much support from the Gettysburg community. I will continue to do my best for those more than 3,600 people who voted for me and everyone else. Congratulations and kudos to all who qualified for office. Finally, kudos to everyone who put themselves out there and ran.  It takes courage. Go warriors!!!” said Moyers.

In the Bermudian Springs School District, Chad Mowery and Brian Davis were elected in Region 1. In Region 2, Ruth Griffie and Neil Tate have won. Region 3 was won by Daniel Chubb.

In the Conewago Valley School District, David Meckley and Meredith Miller have unofficially taken Region 1, while Lindsay Krug prevailed over Beth Farnham in Region 2. April Swope and William Getz have won seats from Region 3.

In the Fairfield Area School District Erica Bollinger, Lisa Sturges, Melissa Kearchner, James Fisher, and Jennifer Holz have been elected.

In the Littlestown School District, the winning candidates are  Nick Lovell, Danielle Brenneman, Mary Brenneman, Duane Sullivan, Fred Miller, and Janell Ressler.

New board members in the Upper Adams School District are Neil Weigle, Loren Lustig, Heather Young-Cover, Tricia Plank, Marya Djalal, and Kay Hollabaugh.

Other Candidate Comments on the Election

“I want to thank everyone who came out to vote in this election! I really appreciate the faith my fellow Cumberland Township residents have in me to serve for the next 6 years. I look forward to seeing numerous initiatives that are in the works to their completion and continuing to move the township forward to keep Cumberland Township as one of the best townships to live in,” said winner Shaun Phiel.

From Beth Farnham, who lost her bid for board director at Conewago Valley Shool Board: “To all who supported my campaign – thank you for your tremendous encouragement. We did not win, but we can rest in the knowledge that we defended excellence in public education and upholding the Constitutions of the United States and Pennsylvania. As we turn our attention to the new board, we ask them to continue CVSD’s practices of caring about students, respecting staff, and adhering to the law.” 

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x